Named Ranges

Make for Happy Spreadsheets

CODING & SPREADSHEETS

Since last we spoke…

  1. It’s snowed 7+ inches at our house! The kids are in heaven.

  2. I’ve driven to Mississippi and back again.

  3. I’ve finished my first two books of the year (2/50 😱)

Now to the sheets…

Named Ranges

If you’ve never named ranges in Google Sheets or Microsoft Excel, don’t worry. I’d say your in the majority.

But, learning to do so can be very helpful.

In both Excel and Sheets, there’s a handy shortcut in the top left corner right below the File menu. It looks like a dropdown selector.

screenshot of dropdown named range box

Simply highlight the range you’d like to name, and click in this box to type the name.

sample named range

Now we can refer to this named range by a name that makes sense rather than by typing in the cell reference every time.

Here’s a sample Query statement using that named range in Google Sheets:

Query in Google Sheets

=QUERY(Data,"select * where A = 'Batteries'")

And here’s a similar filter in Excel to get the same result:

Excel Filter

=FILTER(Data,Category=B1)

Named ranges help me simplify my sheets especially when I use a lot of functions, custom formulas and/or conditional formatting.

Thank you so much!

It means a lot that you’ve read this, and I hope it’s informed and/or entertained you for a few moments today!

Would love to say hi. Here are the best places to find me:

P.S. I’m writing something new this year…

I am publishing a daily meditation this year. It’s not affiliated with my tech tutorials, but if you want to check it out, here’s the link. It’s called Progress and Perfection.

Need More Help?

  • Need a powerful automation tool for Google Sheets? Try Coefficient to automatically import data and sync with your business systems.

  • Hire an expert to help complete your next Google Sheets, Apps Script or Google Workplace project.